

ABSTRACT

Disaster Management – Constitution of District Disaster Management Authority – Orders issued.

Revenue [DMI (2)] Department

<u>G.O. (Ms) No: 33</u>

Dated: 24.01.2012

Read:

- 1. The Disaster Management Act, 2005 of Government of India published in the Gazette of India No.64, dated 26.12.2005.
- 2. G.O.Ms.No.689, Revenue NC1(2) Department, dated 04.12.2008 published in <u>Tamil Nadu Government Gazette</u> No.50, dated 24.12.2008.
- 3. G.O.Ms.No.14, Revenue NC1(2) Department, dated 06.01.2009 published in <u>Tamil Nadu Government Gazette</u> No.3, dated 28.01.2009.

Read also:

4. From the Principal Secretary / Commissioner of Revenue Administration, Chennai – 5, Letter No. NCI (3)/77555/07, dated 17.06.2009, 12.06.2010 and 02.06.2011.

ORDER:

In the Government Orders second and third read above, a State Disaster Management Authority and a State Executive-Committee have been formed as specified in the Disaster Management Act, 2005 (Central Act 53 of 2005).

2. Under Section 25(1) of the Disaster Management Act, 2005 (Central Act 53 of 2005), the District Disaster Management Authority shall consists of the following persons:-

(i) the Collector or District Magistrate or Deputy Commissioner, as the case may be, of the district who shall be Chairperson, ex-officio;

(ii) the elected representative of the local authority who shall be the co-Chairperson, ex-officio;

(iii) the Chief Executive Officer of the District Authority, ex-officio;

(iv) the Superintendent of Police, ex-officio;

(v) the Chief Medical Officer of the district, ex-officio;

(vi) not exceeding two other district level officers, to be appointed by the State Government.

3. In the letter fourth read above, the Principal Secretary / Commissioner of Revenue Administration has stated that as per sub-section (1) of section 25 of the Disaster Management Act, 2005, (Central Act 53 of 2005), the District Disaster Management Authority in all districts shall be constituted after issue of notification under sub-section (1) of section 14, constituting State Disaster Management Authority. He has also sent proposal for the following officers to be nominated every District Disaster Management Authority.

- (I) Chair person District Collector, ex-officio;
- (II) Co-Chairperson District Panchayat Chairman, ex-officio;
- (III) Superintendent of Police, ex-officio;
- (IV) District Revenue Officer who shall function as the Chief Executive Officer of the authority.
- (V) Joint Director, Health Services, ex-officio;
- (VI) Personal Assistant (General) to Collector and Additional Collector, (Development)/Project Officer (District Rural Development Agency)

4. Accordingly, the Government constitute the District Disaster Management Authority in all districts in the State as per the notification appended to this order.

5. The notification appended to this order will be published in the <u>Tamil Nadu</u> <u>Government Gazette.</u>

(By Order of the Governor)

R. Rajagopal, Principal Secretary to Government.

То

The Works Manager, Government Central Press, Chennai -79.

(for publication in the Tamil Nadu Government Gazette)

The Principal Secretary/Commissioner of Revenue Administration, Chennai – 5.

The Home Secretary, Government of India, North Block, New Delhi.

All members of the State Disaster Management Authority.

All members of the State Executive Committee.

All members of District Disaster Management Authority in all Districts in the State.

Copy to:

Office of the Chief Minister, Chennai – 9.

The Senior Personal Assistant to Hon'ble Minister (Revenue), Chennai-9.

The Finance Department, Chennai-9.

The Law Department, Chennai-9.

The Revenue (DM-II, DM-III, DM-IV) Department, Chennai-9.

G.O.(Ms) No.323, Revenue Department, dated 08.07.2003.

G.O.(Ms) No.689, Revenue Department, dated 04.12.2008.

G.O.(Ms) No.14, Revenue Department, dated 06.01.2009. SF/SC.,

//Forwarded By Order//

61. 91251,112

Section Officer.

APPENDIX

NOTIFICATION

Under sub-sections (1) and (2) of section 25 of the Disaster Management Act, 2005 (Central Act 53 of 2005), the Governor of Tamil Nadu hereby establishes the District Disaster Management Authority, consisting of the following members, namely:-

- 1. District Collector Chairperson, ex-officio;
- 2. District Panchayat Chairman Co-Chairperson, ex-officio;
- 3. Superintendent of Police, ex-officio;

4. District Revenue Officer who shall function as the Chief Executive Officer of the District authority, ex-officio;

5. Joint Director, Health services, ex-officio;

6. Personal Assistant (General) to Collector and Additional Collector (Development)/Project Officer (District Rural Development Authority).

// True Copy//

Section Officer.